Zelensky awarded Pelosi with the Order of Princess Olga

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky thanked Pelosi for a “powerful signal of support” from the United States ” alt=”Zelensky awarded Pelosi with the Order of Princess Olga” />

Nancy Pelosi and Volodymyr Zelensky

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky awarded the Speaker of the US House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi, who arrived in Kyiv, with the Order of Princess Olga, according to the website of the Ukrainian leader.< /p>

“For a significant personal contribution to strengthening Ukrainian-American interstate cooperation, support for a sovereign, independent and democratic Ukraine, President Volodymyr Zelensky awarded the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the US Congress Nancy Pelosi with the Order of Princess Olga,”— the message says.

The order was established in Ukraine in 1997. It bears the name of Princess Olga, who ruled Kievan Rus from 945 to 960 and was the first to accept Christianity in this post. The Order is awarded to women for outstanding services in state, civil, scientific, educational and other fields of activity.

Pelosi arrived in Kyiv on May 1 and held talks with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky. He thanked her for “a signal of strong support from the United States of America, the people, Congress.” She replied that Ukraine “heroically fights for freedom.” and promised to continue to support the country until this fight is over, according to a message on the website of the Ukrainian president.

A few days before Pelosi's arrival, State Department head Anthony Blinken and US Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin came to Kyiv. They promised to return American diplomats to Ukraine and provide another military aid to Kyiv. US President Joe Biden announced his readiness to come to Kyiv, but White House spokeswoman Jen Psaki then said that the US administration would not poison Biden to Ukraine.

After the start of Russia's military operation, Kyiv was visited by a number of high-ranking European politicians , including British Prime Minister Boris Johnson, Presidents of Poland, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia Andrzej Duda, Gitanas Nauseda, Egils Levits and Alar Karis, Austrian Prime Minister Karl Nehammer, European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and European diplomat Josep Borrell.

Materials for the article Authors Tags Subscribe to RuTube RBC Live broadcasts, videos and recordings of programs on our RuTube channel

Источник rbc.ru

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *